AUO Celebrates 9th Induction Ceremony of Medical Laboratory Scientists

One of the pioneer Departments of Achievers University, Medical Laboratory Science, conducted its 9th Convocation Ceremonies on Wednesday, the 17th of February 2021. The Induction Ceremony featured annually, played host to the Registrar/Chief Executive Officer of the Medical Laboratory Council of Nigeria (MLSCN), Dr. Tosan Erhabour, who personally inducted the 65 new Scientists and presented awards to prize winners and awardees.

Highlights of the Induction ceremony include the Induction Lecture titled “Medical Laboratory Practice in Covid19 Pandemic” delivered by Prof Peter Olaitan, the Chief Medical Director of the University of Osun Teaching Hospital, and goodwill and congratulatory messages delivered by the Medical Director of Federal Medical Centre Owo, Dr. Hamed, the Head of Department of MLS, Prof Hassan, the Vice-Chancellor, Prof Samuel O. Aje and the Pro-Chancellor, Dr. Bode Ayorinde. The Pro-Chancellor also informed the audience about the recently equipped MLS Laboratories at the cost of N100m as well as the news of the automatic employment for the two best  graduating inductees after the completion of their National Youth Service programme.

While speaking to the inductees on the importance of embracing integrity in their chosen profession, the Pro-Chancellor commended the Federal Medical Centre (FMC) Owo and its staff for equipping the inductees with the skills required for the task ahead.

The Registrar and the Chief Executive officer of the MLSCN, Dr. Tosan Erhabor, while announcing the cash gifts to the two best inductees, heartily congratulated the prize winners and all the inductees on completing their studies. He urged them to be guided by the ethics of the profession while reiterating the Council’s commitment to the ideal of quality service delivery within the health laboratory system in the country.