About Us


Dr. Bode Ayorinde (FCIB, LL.B, BL, Ph.D), currently a member of the House of Representatives, joined the then Cooperative Bank Plc in 1983 with a National Diploma in Secretarial Studies. Desirous of making progress in the Banking Industry, he registered for the Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria (CIBN) professional examinations and attended the Institute’s Tuition Centre at Ibadan to pass the first eight (8) subjects in Part 1 of the institute’s examination. However, there was no tuition Centre in Ibadan to teach the remaining eight (8) subjects in Part 2 of the Institute’s examination, all Ibadan students had to go to Lagos every weekend for lectures. This vacuum in Ibadan propelled Dr. Bode Ayorinde to establish the Achievers Continuing Education Centre in 1991 at Ibadan. The Centre provided tuition for the professional examinations of CIBN, ATS and ICAN students. The Centre later added GCE and JAMB coaching, anchored the satellite campus of Ondo State Polytechnic at Ibadan, founded the Achievers High School, Ibadan and served as the spring board upon which Achievers University was established in Owo, his home town, in 2008.


Achievers Continuous Education Centre was initially a family business of Hon. Dr. Bode Ayorinde. The business was formally registered in 1994 as a private limited liability company. However, the decision to expand the scope of the Educational Institute towards the establishment of a private University caused the family to invite notable personalities to join the company. The offer, through a private placement attracted important personalities like Chief Mrs. Olutoyin Olakunri, Sen. T.O Olupitan, Late Sen Kolawole, Professors and Senior Academics to subscribe to the shares. In all, 90 shareholders emerged and became the owners of the University.

Approval and Licensing

Dr. Bode Ayorinde, a secretary, a lawyer, a banker and an educationist obtained the Private University application form from the National Universities Commission (NUC) in October 2003. After 48 months of painstaking effort, the Federal Executive Council approved the University on 24th October, 2007 on the recommendation of the NUC, which eventually issued the license to operate as a private University on 11th December, 2007. The University officially commenced academic activities on 2nd April, 2008.

Vision & Mission of the University

Vision: To be the best university in Africa and indeed one of the best in the world; to produce a total person, morally sound, properly educated and entrepreneurially oriented, who would be useful to himself and to the society.

Mission: To provide the enabling environment - both physical and academic – for the production of competent and quality graduates who would be self-reliant, highly productive and globally relevant in every sphere of human endeavor.

The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the University, registered with the NUC is composed of the following eminent personalities.

  1. Chief Mrs Olutoyin Olakuntri (MON) – Chairman
  2. Professor Emeritus David Ijalaye - Co-chairman
  3. Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN) (Ondo State Governor-Elect) – Member
  4. Dr. Adewumi Abitoye (Former Minister of Education) – Member
  5. Prof Mrs Victoria Ajala – Member
  6. Hon. Dr. Bode Ayorinde - Founder/Pro-chancellor

Governing Council

The University law provides for a Governing Council that meets on a quarterly basis to formulate policies and source for funds for the running and development of the University. A council is to run for 5 years before it is reconstituted. The Governing Council of Achievers University has been inaugurated twice. Firstly at inception in 2008 and the second one in 2013, both has been under the Chairmanship of Hon. Dr. Bode Ayorinde, the Founder. The current Council is composed of the following members:

  1. Hon. Dr. Bode Ayorinde - Chairman and Pro-chancellor
  2. Professor Ademola Popoola – Member
  3. Professor S.O. Aje – Member
  4. Barr. Akin Kolawole – Member
  5. Barrister Banji Ajaka – Member
  6. Barrister Mrs. Ronke Omame – Member
  7. Mallam Abdullahi Hamza - NUC Representative
  8. Professor Tunji Ibiyemi – Vice Chancellor
  9. Professor Wole Atere – Deputy Vice Chancellor
  10. Professor S. O. Oyewole – Dean, Post Graduate School
  11. Professor A.I. Ayodele - Dean College of Social & Mgt Sciences
  12. Professor S. O. Oduleye - Dean College of Natural & Applied Sciences
  13. Mr. F. Ola Ogedengbe - Representative of Congregation
  14. Dr Akindele Ige - Representative, Ondo State Min. of Education
  15. Alh A. G. A. Adebimpe – University Librarian
  16. Mr. Dokun Farinre - Bursar
  17. Mrs. B. F. Sofowora - Registrar/Secretary to Council


Achievers University has achieved a stable management since inception. Professor Johnson Odebiyi was appointed the pioneer vice-chancellor in 2008. He was in the saddle of the management for six years before he handed over to the second Vice Chancellor, Professor Tunji Ibiyemi who is currently the head of Management and the Senate of the University. Currently the management of the University is made up of the following members:

  1. Professor Tunji Ibiyemi - Vice chancellor
  2. Professor Wole Atere - Deputy vice chancellor
  3. Mrs B. F. Sofowora - Registrar
  4. Mr D.O. Farinre - Bursar
  5. Alhaji A. G. A. Adebimpe - Librarian
  6. Professor S. O. Oyewole – Dean, Post Graduate School
  7. Professor S.O. Oduleye - Dean, College of Natural & Applied Sciences
  8. Professor A.I. Ayodele - Dean, College of Social & Mgt Sciences

Nine Years of Operation

The University will be nine (9) years old on 2nd April 2017, having commenced operation on 2nd April 2008. During this period the University has admitted students for 9 academic sessions and has graduated 6 sets of graduates that have regularly participated in the National Youth Service (NYSC) programme. Achievers University admitted 126 students in the 1st year, 150 students in the 2nd year and has stabilized in matriculating about 250 students annually. The University runs a collegiate system. It started with two Colleges and had since sustained the two Colleges since inception, only introducing the 3rd college this academic Session, having just obtained the approval of NUC to hoist the College of Engineering. Details of the colleges and programmes run by Achievers University are listed below:

College of Natural and Applied Science

  • Department of Chemical sciences
  • Department of Biological sciences
  • Department of Geology
  • Department of Mathematics and Computer science
  • Department of Nursing science
  • Department of Medical Laboratory Science
  • Department of Basic Medical science

College of Social and Management Science

  • Department of Accounting
  • Department of Business Administration
  • Department of Political Science & International Relations
  • Department of Banking and Finance
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Mass Communication
  • Department of General Studies

College of Engineering (NEW)

  • Department of Electrical / Electronic Engineering
  • Department of Telecommunication Engineering
  • Department of Computer Engineering
  • Department of Mechatronic Engineering
  • Department of Biomedical Engineering

The University operates on its permanent site, an expanse of land measuring 187 hectares covered by a Certificate of Occupancy on Kilometer 1 Idasen-Ute Road Owo, Ondo State. At age 9, the University at its permanent site can boast of the following infrastructure:

  • 8 Academic Blocks.
  • 2 Administrative Blocks.
  • University Mini Library.
  • University Health Centre.
  • University Auditorium.
  • University Sport Centre.
  • University library.
  • The ICT Centre.
  • 500 bed-space Hall of Residence.